Controlling Kodi with Jarvis...

Tell us how Jarvis makes your life easier and share your methods.
avc
EGG
Posts: 10
Joined: February 7th, 2014, 2:12 am

Controlling Kodi with Jarvis...

Postby avc » May 5th, 2015, 7:33 am

Hi guys,

Can anyone tell me if they have managed to be able to control Kodi (formerly XBMC) with Jarvis? and if so how they did it?

Ideally I would like to be able request Jarvis play a video/movie/tv show etc by name. Something like "Jarvis play Die Hard" and have Jarvis open Kodi and play the movie or "Jarvis play Big Bang Theory, Season One, Episode 2".

Is this even possible? I'm familiar with VBscripting, and have been able to get Jarvis to open various apps before, but I'm not sure on this one.

Thanks for any help. :D

Codyf2000
EGG
Posts: 7
Joined: April 6th, 2015, 4:40 pm

Re: Controlling Kodi with Jarvis...

Postby Codyf2000 » May 5th, 2015, 5:28 pm

I don't know how to do that exactly, but another way is to enter all the Tv show manually.

For example, if you got a movie on your laptop, just put a command to take a shortcut to the movie, and it will play it.

Sorry if this doesn't help, I least I tried. :)

avc
EGG
Posts: 10
Joined: February 7th, 2014, 2:12 am

Re: Controlling Kodi with Jarvis...

Postby avc » May 8th, 2015, 12:09 am

Thanks for the assist Cody,

I will probably end up doing as you suggest, using seperate batches for each movie that gets played regularly.

If I find a way to control Kodi with Jarvis, I will post it in the appropriate forum.

Cheers. :D

Zunair
Site Admin
Posts: 2423
Joined: January 11th, 2014, 12:29 am

Re: Controlling Kodi with Jarvis...

Postby Zunair » July 9th, 2015, 3:33 am

Any progress?

Sent from my SGH-T889 using Tapatalk

Alucard
EGG
Posts: 15
Joined: August 11th, 2017, 3:36 am

Re: Controlling Kodi with Jarvis...

Postby Alucard » August 13th, 2017, 11:10 pm

not sure if there is a more recent post for this, but i'm in the process of figuring this out, if someone already has let me know, found commands that i can tie into Jarvis, just still gathering information, i will post the exact commands when i get to it, and as for searching a database, could you use an add on within KODI like exodus, they already have a show index, i haven't looked to see if that is stored locally however i did see an extensive video list while disconnected from the internet so i think it is stored locally, Jarvis, should be able to scan this for the show names and information, but right now i'm not sure how to tie it into playing it

http://kodi.wiki/view/Action_IDs

http://kodi.wiki/view/List_of_built-in_functions

Alucard
EGG
Posts: 15
Joined: August 11th, 2017, 3:36 am

Re: Controlling Kodi with Jarvis...

Postby Alucard » September 9th, 2017, 2:42 pm

So great news! i am currently running Openelec on a raspberry pi, i have been able to get Jarvis to control it, these are simple SSH commands that you can run, I would rather not use putty but it seems to work just fine for these commands and it's already on all of my systems, most raspberry pi's come with SSH and from there you can control I/O ports as well as execute scripts for other purposes, putty has a command line utility that allows you to send a command to a remote client, if you want to read up on this here is a link http://the.earth.li/~sgtatham/putty/0.5 ... pter7.html

under shell the action is

plink -ssh 192.168.1.135 -l root -pw openelec reboot

or to send action ID's

plink -ssh 192.168.1.135 -l root -pw openelec kodi-send --action="PlayPause"

explanation of the above command, in case you're asking, it's asking putty(plink) to make an SSH connection to the IP of my raspberry PI, since i have the openelec operating system installed i am using it's default username (-l root)and password (-pw openelec), then i have the command (reboot) that i want to send, to send the action ID's you can use the kodi-send command, where i have "PlayPause" you put the command you want, quotes need to be there, everything is case sensitive

there are a lot of actions ID's and you can use most linux commands, there are only a few commands that i need so i will program all of them with specific commands, but perhaps a tab separated database of the commands and normal way of saying them with syntax Kodi (that=kodidata) and then something to run a script to send the correct command, there are a few scripts that can be modified for that on here, then it can be added to people as needed

this is just the start, next is to get Jarvis to remotely search for a movie and play it, i'm doing 2 things with that, one is to play from my own database of movies and the other is to play from an add-on's database

post if you have any questions

Zunair
Site Admin
Posts: 2423
Joined: January 11th, 2014, 12:29 am

Re: Controlling Kodi with Jarvis...

Postby Zunair » September 16th, 2017, 8:50 am

keep it up!


Return to “Jarvis Usage”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest