Can't connect to webserver

Report un-reproducible/random errors for Mark II here.
Forum rules
If you CAN reproduce the error please see the rules on this thread for quicker response.

Please see the Troubleshooting guide on our wiki.
Frequently Asked Questions can be found here.

Try to include all relevant details such as:
    0. Perform normal troubleshooting steps*
    1. Steps to reproduce the issue
    2. Expected results
    3. Actual results
    4. Operating System
    5. Default Language


*Troubleshooting Steps
    Restart App
    Look for error again
    Shutdown Machine, unplug power cord, hit power button, wait 30 sec, plug power back, hit power button
    Start App again
    Look for error again
    Uninstall the software, then reinstall it
    Look for error again
    Search the forum for similar error
    Report if error is reproducible


Thank you for the feedback. Please note that we may PM you to follow-up with you regarding your issue.


**If you get an error about object not set to an instance of an object....
Go to control panel and find the speech recognition section
Open it up and press start speech recognition.
Run through all of that, then when the recognizer opens, close it.
Open up jarvis and see is this helps.
User avatar
TexasAutomatons
LINKED
Posts: 177
Joined: April 8th, 2015, 8:28 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Can't connect to webserver

Postby TexasAutomatons » January 9th, 2019, 3:09 pm

I've enabled the webserver and I've been looking over the wiki page all afternoon. I'm trying to simply connect to my webserver on LINKS. Once I can get a connection, I'd like to create an Android app for it. I've been learning with MIT App Inventor for the past year and this looks like a cool project.

I'm using this page: http://jarvis.ai-dot.net/documentation/ ... eb_Service

But can't seem to get the thing to connect at all. I just keep getting "Site can't be reached" and "Took too long to respond"

I've tried with webserver enabled and disabled, using "localhost" and my IP address but I get the same results

Zunair
Site Admin
Posts: 2412
Joined: January 11th, 2014, 12:29 am

Re: Can't connect to webserver

Postby Zunair » January 10th, 2019, 12:52 am

From the tray icon... look for webservice test function.. n run it...
I cant remember the exact function.. but it loads up the correct url to and shows a small demo...

If nothing works... you may need to look in your firewall settings.


... and we have an android apk... if u wanna try ;)

Thanks

User avatar
TexasAutomatons
LINKED
Posts: 177
Joined: April 8th, 2015, 8:28 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Can't connect to webserver

Postby TexasAutomatons » January 10th, 2019, 1:25 am

Will the apk allow me to put in my IP address, port and keyword, then connect to my laptop remotely and speak to LINKS as if I'm standing right there in the same room?

I saw a post for an Android Wear app, but I don't have Wear. Just some old crappy phones ranging from Android 4.4 up to 6.0. I'd love to see the apk though!

Zunair
Site Admin
Posts: 2412
Joined: January 11th, 2014, 12:29 am

Re: Can't connect to webserver

Postby Zunair » January 10th, 2019, 1:30 am

Wear app couldn't be tested.... but phone app works... at least last time we checked...

User avatar
TexasAutomatons
LINKED
Posts: 177
Joined: April 8th, 2015, 8:28 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Can't connect to webserver

Postby TexasAutomatons » January 10th, 2019, 1:38 am

Is there a link here on the forums for the apk?

Zunair
Site Admin
Posts: 2412
Joined: January 11th, 2014, 12:29 am

Re: Can't connect to webserver

Postby Zunair » January 20th, 2019, 6:03 am

Nop.. server working yet?

User avatar
TexasAutomatons
LINKED
Posts: 177
Joined: April 8th, 2015, 8:28 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Can't connect to webserver

Postby TexasAutomatons » January 20th, 2019, 4:31 pm

I have the app I created connected on my home network. I haven't set up my ports and all on my router to allow connections outside of the network yet, but it seems to be working fine. I have Google speech recognition on my phone recognize my phrase and pass it along as a command.


Return to “Mark III [Errors]”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests